h1

Functions of Personal Digital Assistant (PDA)

April 27, 2009

FG Logo

When I ask someone who has not used a PDA before; Why are you not using a PDA?” or Will you use a PDA?”, some of the most common replies I get are…

A1: “My RM300 phone already has appointment and task built in. So I don’t need a powerful device to do it.”

A2: “I don’t have so many contacts/email to store.”

A3: “I don’t need to set appointments as I am not in sales/marketing line.”

A4: “Expensive!”

A5: “Don’t know how to use.”


Generally, when people think of PDA, they think of only appointments, task and contacts. PDA has evolve so much since the day I started using it. I do not blame them for thinking that way as PDA was mainly used for that purpose 5 to 6 years ago. Palm was so popular back then people generally refer PDA as Palm. How things have changed. I hope to bridge the knowledge gap with the simple slideshow I created below.

Buying a PDA is very much like buying a computer. It is all about what you install into it that makes it worth while.

Recent years, prices of PDA has also come down to a very reasonable range. Did you know that you can get a PDA phone with Bluetooth, WiFi, 2MP camera, GPS with Touch Screen for under RM1,000?

Hint: HTC P3300

Anyway, back to the functions of PDA… Did you know that

  • you can search through ANY words among your thousands of SMS?
  • you can sort your SMS like a chat window? Making it easier to reply and read your SMS instead of just Inbox/Outbox.
  • you can schedule a SMS to be sent tomorrow, next week, next month and even a year later? Never forget a birthday wish!
  • you can watch youtube movies clips anytime, anywhere?
  • you can do PUSH EMAIL on Windows Exchange Server? Arguably faster than Blackberry?
  • you can WIRELESSLY SYNCHRONIZE all your contacts using FREE Google Sync?
  • you can view all your friend’s current location with the latest Google Map/Latitude?
  • you can have all your Yahoo messanger, MSN, GTalk, AOL, Skype all launched in one application?
  • you can filter out unwanted calls/sms?
  • 90% of our customers are actually new users?

Leave your comments and share with me what do you use your PDA for besides the usual appointment and task?

Subscribe to Fresh Gear Weblog by Email

Facebook

2 comments

  1. Hmm. I think you didn’t mention some people might think how annoying the touchscreen can be. I really hate touch screens somehow..


  2. While I respect the opinion of the above commenter, I believe he may be a bit stuck in the old days. EVERYTHING is touch screen now, and the reason is that it is easier to use and provides much more functionality. The only case I see for real buttons is for the use of a keyboard. I just got an iPhone and yes, I do prefer a real keyboard. But other functionality more than outweighs this need.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

